abstract · Watercolour

Abstract shores

Felt like more landscapes today. More abstract though. And I had an idea to use gesso as the foamy part of the water on a beach shore so I got these done.

abstract shores photo sig
Abstract Shore I on the top left corner and Abstract shore II at the bottom right. I only used a palette knife and aquabrush for these.

Not much technique went into these excepting I applied a watercolour gradient wash, waited for it to almost dry and then applied gesso with a palette knife, waited for that to almost dry again before adding tones and ‘detail’ – more work was done in abstract shore II (the one on the right). I just couldn’t get it ‘right’ without putting too much realism into it so I decided to leave it as is.

I haven’t been able to scan them just since they haven’t dried yet (gesso takes ages to dry – its been like 3 hours already!) and I’d like to sleep. lol

Edit: I got to scan them and here they are;

I edited it so it looks closest to the actual image. I like how the gesso picked up some of that blue in the middle making it look somewhat transparent as water should.
I edited it so it looks closest to the actual image. I like how the gesso picked up some of that blue in the middle making it look somewhat transparent, as water should.
abstract_shore_II
They look a bit different to yesterdays camera photo because I fiddled a lot with editing the photo to make it brighter (it was just so dim and dark) and resultantly lost the true colours of the paintings.

 

Xoxo

 

3 thoughts on “Abstract shores

Leave a Reply

