abstract · Landscapes · Watercolour

Not So Abstract Abstracts

paper-mountains-watercolour
Here I used tissue to lay down areas where I wanted texture to show. But I didn’t make it full on abstract after all and added a sky and clouds.

I’m not sure whether to call todays paintings abstracts or not. I feel they are just a bit but more than anything they are clear landscapes.

Here I added white acrylic gesso to the paper before painting over and around it for the waves. I love working with gesso.
Here I added white acrylic gesso to the paper before painting over and around it for the waves. I love working with gesso.

I wanted to focus on a minimal style. I’m inspired by art that doesn’t bother about the details and leaves a lot of white space but I always allow myself to get harrowed when painting which causes me to make mistakes which makes me want to cover those and the only way I think is to add more paint (especially if tissue doesn’t blot it out well enough) other timesย  I simply get addicted to (unnecessary) detail!
So today was quite freeing if you can imagine. And I’m pleased with the results for the most part. I got (1) slightly abstract paintings and (2) minimal paint on the paper.

There was a painting from yesterday that I used the tissue technique on, for texture like the first painting above, but I didn’t like the final result – I’ve posted it here to show the process as I didn’t take any progress shots today. But I do not count it as a painting and so redone it today.

This is the abstract piece I didn’t like:

I had signed this already, yesterday, but I decided I didn't like it after all and didn't post it.
I had signed this already, yesterday, but I decided I didn’t like it after all and didn’t post it.

These are the progress shots:

The layer of tissue spritsed down with water.
The layer of tissue spritzed down with water.
The first layer of watercolour added to the tissue layer.
The first layer of watercolour added to the tissue layer.

I was really liking it at the second stage but I felt I had to add a litte “more” to it – which ruined it. But I’m glad I did it since I learned something.

Xoxo

11 thoughts on “Not So Abstract Abstracts

Leave a Reply

