Portraits · Watercolour

Facial Expressions: Day 7

Final painting in watercolours. It took me ages. Can you tell the face should read "bored"? ^_^
Final painting in watercolours. It took me ages. Can you tell the face should read “bored”? ^_^

Today I tried something different.
I’ve noticed my pencil sketches are alright – but that I tend to mess up when it comes to adding colour.

sketch-bored-face
Initial pencil sketch

So, what I thought to do was maybe pencil in the colour at least the first layer before committing to paints. The choice I had was between watercolour pencils or the Polychromos pencils (I only have a few specially chosen for skin tone). I hadn’t used the Polychromos so I went with that; erased the pencil sketch to its lightest possible and laid down a rough shading of the mid tones.

sketch-bored-face-colourpencil
It’s really light but this is the initial layer with polychromos. The scanner didn’t pick the colour up too well.

This helped so much. I really have a fear of not getting paint down right so doing this really helped alleviate some of that.
I think I managed to stay close to the initial sketch this time AND stuck to the desired expression! It took a LOT of focus – something I haven’t been able to manage lately. Plus I work pretty slow so I should know better!

Xoxo

18 thoughts on “Facial Expressions: Day 7

  1. Hello Sissh,

    I like the eye and hair color choice, the more realistic neutral and/or serious facial expression, and the subtle bit of aging represented in this painting; well done.

    -John Jr

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I did a horrendous face today…the model is making an awful face and there’s all this foreshortening going on with his head leaning back, and he had all these teeth showing like he’s scaring a child or something…oh, my. My result was not good LOL. I’d have to say it was the most challenging face I’ve ever attempted to draw. After that experience (I found the face on Quickposes.com), doing a “normal” one ought to be easy. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh my goodness! By your description it certainly sounds like it! (⊙_⊙) Foreshortened features are the worst too! Perspective drawing is a challenge all on its own…
        It’s great that you keep up the practise though – that alone is inspiring. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. When the face appeared on Quickposes, I was really tempted to skip over it and choose a different one, but nothing’s gained when we fail to accept challenges, right? That’s what I told myself, anyway. I have a horrible drawing, but at least I saw it through.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you Karen – I appreciate that SO much! ^_^ I was determined to make this last one show at least some growth… I’m so grateful I had the time to work on it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I get the feeling that your subject is pensive more than bored, but either way it is a beautiful painting. Thanks for explaining your process with the colored pencils – great idea!! I love learning how artists pull off such terrific results!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean! At this point I do sketches on the side too see what shading would look right. Or else I have to breathe and convince myself to do trial and error shading right on the drawing till I get it right… or close! Lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

