Portraits · Watercolour

Day 4 : Facial Expression


watercolour painting surprised portrait

I’m not particularly excited by my execution of an surprised face. I added in the hand last minute for effect… but still not convinced.
I haven’t yet figured out what I’m not getting right but I’m sure it will come to me soon enough. Until then I’ll keep at it. Practise, practise, practise. ^_^

Xoxo

PS: This was yesterdays painting but for some reason I found it still in draft status! I will be double posting tonight as a result 😦

 

12 thoughts on “Day 4 : Facial Expression

  1. Good drawing, but something about the eyes and the mouth don’t “add up” to “surprise” for me. If I cover her eyes and look at the mouth, I think, “Yes, she looks surprised.” If I cover the mouth and look at the eyes, she still looks surprised. Then, when I see them together… I don’t quite get the “surprised” expression for some reason. I’m working on the same problem with my facial expression drawings. It’s frustrating, isn’t it! You’re way ahead of me. You can do hair, too. 🙂 I like drawing faces, but getting the expressions right is really hard. Practice, practice, practice. We’ll get there yet!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very frustrating indeed!! It makes me want to laugh its so bad… when you look at it plainly she kind of looks like shes yawning. Tsk tsk. The hair is my only joy this week and even then its been turning out just a bit lackluster. The only thing to do is keep going, we’ll figure it out soon enough! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t want to mention the yawn 🙂 I almost wondered if she’s trying to “fake” being surprised, like she’s putting on an act. It is so frustrating when we’re close but can’t quite get it to look the way we want. I sometimes go over my face drawings and think, yeah, that part’s right, yeah, that looks like it should… and so on, but then I step back and it’s clearly not right. If I can’t figure out what’s wrong, it’s hard to correct it, and that’s when it gets really frustrating.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a hard time with faces too, and what I tend to resist is learning the bone structure of the face, which would probably help us both! It’s about facial proportions, I think. She looks mildly surprised to me, by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean! It feels like such a tedious exercise. But I know its sooo worth it in the end. Taking some time out to actually try would be a good thing, maybe we should! 🙂
      Midly surprised… works for me! Lol thanks Barbara. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Not sure why she only looks mildly surprised, I agree with Judith, both the mouth and eyes looks a bit surprised but not wholeheartedly. While looking though I noticed that you don’t have any highlights in her eyes, those little spots of white reflection in the eyes give an amazing amount of life to them. Just a hint, you are going so well. Karen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah, I know what you mean about the reflection in the eyes – I have done this in some of my other portraits but it hasn’t become a habit just yet – thanks for pointing this out, Karen! I really appreciate your good feedback 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome, I noticed in your others you had added the highlight. Glad to help, I love trying to figure out why drawings don’t work and hope my hints are taken in the positive and caring manner that they are meant. You are doing such great work.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh certainly! Your comments are always welcome – I really appreciate your having taken the time to point out what could be improved. Good, honest feedback is invaluable as an artist, I believe – and you give it so kindly too! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

