Portraits · Watercolour

Playful Smile

I painted this last night after a super low day. I put pressure on myself again so I started a painting that I told myself would not ‘mean’ anything in terms of content, in terms of technique or colour choice or anything at all. I picked a reference to use as a very loose guide and this is what I got.

image

I did her smile last before the background and it made me smile too (sounds silly I know! (*/ω\) but it did).
I plan on getting my momentum back. I think this may be a good way to go about it?

4 thoughts on “Playful Smile

  1. I totally understand how you feel. Sometimes the urge to create with high expectations always creates pressure and stops you from enjoying it just for the fun. Lovely painting – definitely the way to go! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

