Line-art · Portraits · Watercolour

Day 28: Monochrome

image

I’ve always wanted to do a monochromatic painting. So I had to add it to my list.
I chose to do a magenta because apparently, according to psychology “it is spiritual yet practical, encouraging common sense and a balanced outlook on life. This is a color that helps to create harmony and balance in every aspect of life; physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. A combination of red and violet, magenta contains the passion, power and energy of red, restrained by the introspection and quiet energy of violet.” (Quoted from this site)
I don’t usually care for colour meanings and all that but when I stumbled upon that site I thought it rather interesting.

image

I drew a quick pencil sketch without a reference (this felt so good – I’m getting better, yay ^_^). Then I went in with the watercolours. I mixed alzarian crimson (Daler-Rowney) and violet (Prime Art -a local brand I’m trying out).
And kept adding layers of colour until it felt as done as it could in the time I had. I feel I may add to it at some later stage but for now its done.
I’m happy I got to do stage by stage pictures today. Its been a while since I could do this.

image

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

